Composition VII Saxophone Quartet

Composition VII Saxophone Quartet was founded on June 8, 2007 and gave their premier concert in the National Concert Hall in Taipei in July 2007. The current members Po-Yuan Ku, Chih-Huan Wu, Pin-Hua Chen, and Po-Fang Chang all hold doctoral degrees in saxophone performance from different universities in North America.

The quartet’s North American tour in January 2008 included major performances in Bowling Green State University, Eastman School of Music and the 31st U.S. Navy Band Saxophone Symposium in Washington D.C., and the Culture Division of Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in New York.

In July 2009, Composition VII world premiered Feng-Hsu Lee’s Dream Landscapes at the 15th World Saxophone Congress in Thailand. In July 2012, Composition VII and Taipei Symphonic Wind Orchestra Taiwan premiered Michael Colgrass’ Urban Requiem at the National Concert Hall. In December 2016, Composition VII and Dunshan Symphonic Wind Orchestra performed the third movement of David Maslanka’s Concerto for Saxophone Quartet. In October 2018, Composition VII and Taipei Symphonic Wind Orchestra Taiwan premiered the complete version of the quartet concerto.


Pin-Hua Chen, soprano saxophone
Po-Fang Chang, alto saxophone
Po-Yuan Ku, tenor saxophone
Chih-Huan Wu, baritone saxophone


William Albright: Fantasy Etudes for saxophone quartet
I. A Real Nice Number
II. Pypes
III. The Fives for Steve
IV. Phantom Galop
V. Harmonium (Heiliger Dankgesang)
VI. They Only Come Out at Night

Marc Mellits: Ex Machina for saxophone quartet
Machine I: Let the funk out
Machine II: Flowing
Machine III: Not quite, but almost pensive; sunflowers in love
Machine IV: Dancing a mean ghastly dance
Machine V: The morning after
Machine VI: Flowing, lyrical, & songlike
Machine VII: Aggressive & funky