Po-Yuan Ku

Po-Yuan Ku received his Masters degree from the Bowling Green State University, USA, and his Doctoral degree from University of Alberta, Canada. He also studied orchestra conducting with Dr. Emily Freeman Brown and concert band conducting with Dr. Bruce Moss.

In 2005, he won the University of Alberta Symphony Orchestra Concerto Competition. In 2008, he won the Concerto Competition of ECCS (Edmonton’s Composers’ Concert Society) and world-premiered the concerto in the Region 9 saxophone conference of NASA (North American Saxophone Alliance) in 2009. He currently teaches at National Tainan University, Tainan University of Technology, Fu-Jen Catholic University, Ming Chuan University, and National Taichung University of Education and Minnan Normal University, China.

He is a founding member of the Composition VII Saxophone Quartet, which completed a 2008 concert tour in the USA, including performances at Eastman School of Music, Bowling Green State University, Navy Band Saxophone Symposium, and the Culture Division of Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in New York City.

He is also the conductor of the Taipei Youth Symphonic Band.


Astor Piazzolla: Tango Etude No. 3

Sigfrid Karg-Elert: 25 Caprices and an Atonal Sonata
XII. Ciaccona

Jacob Ter Veldhuis: Grab It! with tape